You are not logged in.

Read the FAQ and Knowledge Base before posting.
We won't make a 3DS/2DS emulator.



#1 2023-01-14 19:53:59

Crystal329
Member
Registered: 2023-01-14
Posts: 2

Registering Tablet Clicks as Press-and-Hold

Hi all,

I am using my drawing tablet to increase the realism of my experience (and honestly I just like using it). I have used it in the past without issue, other than the known double-click issue that has been posted before. However, I have recently come back to DesmuMe after getting my new computer, and the program registers any input from my tablet as pressing and holding. Even when my pen is nowhere near the tablet, it still acts as if it is. I am trying to play Spirit Tracks again (I had zero issues before), and in that game, there is a little sparkle effect to indicate where your cursor is when you are moving Link around. Whenever I remove my pen from the tablet, the effect persists until I click my actual mouse. It also does this on the menu screen, pressing the same button every time I hover over it (not clicking). It behaves normally with the mouse, and my tablet is behaving normally outside of the program.

My computer has Windows 11 and the tablet is a Wacom Intuos Art.

Thanks in advance!

TL;DR The program registers initial touches with my drawing tablet as pressing and holding. It treats the mouse as usual

Offline

#2 2023-01-14 20:03:08

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,978

Re: Registering Tablet Clicks as Press-and-Hold

You will need to hunt through the driver settings on your old computer and your new computer to look for a difference. Or maybe the difference is that you are using a different version of desmume on the new computer. Desmume has never "supported" stylus input on windows; instead, at some point, it acquired code that would force the stylus into a more mouse-like mode for desmume. Some drivers/versions/settings may be bad and not do that properly. It's also possible that the new computer is running windows 11 and the old one isn't; and the amateurs developing windows now have broken something and don't care since their programming attention is fully consumed with adding garbage nobody asked for and coming up with creative ways to use your desktop to advertise and spy on you rather than make sure the fundamentals are working.

Offline

#3 2023-01-15 20:42:55

Dokusaisha
Member
Registered: 2023-01-15
Posts: 7

Re: Registering Tablet Clicks as Press-and-Hold

I'm having similar issues with the touch screen on my Win10 laptop. It's virtually impossible to play using it because of the differences between mouse and touch input, and the same issues crop up trying to use Bizhawk's DS core. There's nothing I can do with the drivers - they're part of Windows itself. Is there any chance Desmume or Bizhawk will be updated to work properly with touch controls? Or if not, what version of Desmume contains this code that handles touch input differently? I've tried several without any luck I'm extremely frustrated.

Offline

#4 2023-01-15 21:42:54

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,978

Re: Registering Tablet Clicks as Press-and-Hold

the code that makes desmume handle touch input differently is many years old. It's unlikely desmume will be updated to handle touch screen controls differently. Unless you roll up your sleeves and do it yourself

Offline

#5 2023-01-16 00:03:42

Crystal329
Member
Registered: 2023-01-14
Posts: 2

Re: Registering Tablet Clicks as Press-and-Hold

Gonna be honest, I do not have the time or ability to go through every driver. The fact that someone else has this problem, even on Windows 10, makes me think that it might not be an OS issue. I've messed with many drawing tablet settings to try and get it to behave, though nothing has worked. Also, it's not a touch screen; my tablet model does not have a screen. I just don't understand what could've changed if the touch-drivers haven't been updated in years.

I don't have any coding knowledge to try and fix the problem myself; that's why I reached out to the forum instead of doing it myself. If I had the ability, I would've handled it without posting. I guess I'm just stuck with the issue forever unless someone else figures out a fix.

Offline

#6 2023-01-16 03:11:13

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,978

Re: Registering Tablet Clicks as Press-and-Hold

If your OS, drivers, and gear haven't changed, then the only thing that changed is the desmume version you're using. Try older ones.

Offline

#7 2023-01-16 03:44:20

Dokusaisha
Member
Registered: 2023-01-15
Posts: 7

Re: Registering Tablet Clicks as Press-and-Hold

I'm in the same boat. God knows I've tried sad I've even tried VMs with older versions of Windows, but the host OS still screws things up.

How far back would be a good place to start, Zeromus?

Offline

#8 2023-01-16 04:03:29

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,978

Re: Registering Tablet Clicks as Press-and-Hold

Interesting, I didn't know this happened. It could have broken things: https://github.com/TASEmulators/desmume … b068b0d4cf

It suggests you could go back to 0.9.12 to avoid that commit.

Here's the very old one I remembered:
https://github.com/TASEmulators/desmume … 8f1d69d89c
https://github.com/TASEmulators/desmume … 96b463ec78

Offline

#9 2023-01-16 06:28:05

Dokusaisha
Member
Registered: 2023-01-15
Posts: 7

Re: Registering Tablet Clicks as Press-and-Hold

Ah, this is excellent!

So it seems like that commit did what it said it did. I tried a build that was compiled on 12/19/17 and touch was borked like it is in current builds. Then I tried a build dated 4/18/18 and it worked perfectly. I tested True Swing Golf and Phantom Hourglass and they're both totally playable. Tyvm for the info! I've spent an eternity trying to get touch working, and now it does!

To the original poster, you can grab the build from https://web.archive.org/20200329163655/ … /download/
Hopefully it fixes the problem for you too.

Last edited by Dokusaisha (2023-01-16 06:33:37)

Offline

#10 2023-01-16 18:01:47

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,978

Re: Registering Tablet Clicks as Press-and-Hold

But why does "adding pen and touch support" break pen and touch support?

Offline

#11 2023-01-16 19:32:31

Dokusaisha
Member
Registered: 2023-01-15
Posts: 7

Re: Registering Tablet Clicks as Press-and-Hold

It doesn't. That's what I was saying, that the commit you linked to did actually did add working touch support. Something else must have broken it later on.

Offline

#12 2023-01-16 21:40:41

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,978

Re: Registering Tablet Clicks as Press-and-Hold

Could you try testing as many builds as you can manage after that point to see where it broke? I know it's a lot of work, but it will increase the odds that I can fix it going forward.

Offline

#13 2023-01-16 21:48:44

Dokusaisha
Member
Registered: 2023-01-15
Posts: 7

Re: Registering Tablet Clicks as Press-and-Hold

Yeah, I can test some of them out. I'll get back to you.

Offline

#14 2023-01-17 01:43:58

Dokusaisha
Member
Registered: 2023-01-15
Posts: 7

Re: Registering Tablet Clicks as Press-and-Hold

Alright, so from the page I linked, I tried the builds dated 12/26/18 and 3/18/19 and they both work fine.

Offline

#15 2023-01-17 06:13:23

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,978

Re: Registering Tablet Clicks as Press-and-Hold

The more you test, the more time it saves me, so please let me know when youve tested all youre gonna test

Offline

#16 2023-01-23 03:38:03

Dokusaisha
Member
Registered: 2023-01-15
Posts: 7

Re: Registering Tablet Clicks as Press-and-Hold

I have no idea where to find any builds from the time beween those on the page I linked and the current ones. And don't get me wrong, I'm happy to lend a hand, but I don't have endless free time, either.

One thing I did notice in the 3/18/19 build that I forgot to mention before is that while touch still works fine, it seems like the sensitivity has been lowered. It's a bit harder to make a touch register.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB