You are not logged in.

Read the FAQ and Knowledge Base before posting.
We won't make a 3DS/2DS emulator.



#1 2021-04-24 16:50:44

Chriscftb97
Member
Registered: 2021-04-24
Posts: 4

How can I slow down Desmume's speedup settings?

So I'm doing a playthrough of a game on my laptop using Desmume. I'm used to playing emulated games with fast forward and usually play on x2-x3 speed.

So Desmume has a hotkey to toggle speedup, but even when I lower the speedup as much as I can (0.0625), it's still waaaay too fast. Probably 7-8x the normal game speed.

Is there any way I can control how much the speedup setting speeds up the game?

Offline

#2 2021-04-24 17:48:26

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,527

Re: How can I slow down Desmume's speedup settings?

no. use increase and decrease speed hotkeys instead

Offline

#3 2021-04-24 18:47:08

Chriscftb97
Member
Registered: 2021-04-24
Posts: 4

Re: How can I slow down Desmume's speedup settings?

zeromus wrote:

no. use increase and decrease speed hotkeys instead

That's what I'm doing, but it's still way too fast. Even on the lowest speed setting using the "-" hotkey, it's still operating at about 7-8x normal speed.

Offline

#4 2021-04-24 23:07:14

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,527

Re: How can I slow down Desmume's speedup settings?

stop hitting the "limit framerate toggle" hotkey

Offline

#5 2021-04-25 02:42:33

Chriscftb97
Member
Registered: 2021-04-24
Posts: 4

Re: How can I slow down Desmume's speedup settings?

zeromus wrote:

stop hitting the "limit framerate toggle" hotkey

I have that hotkey set to disabled.

Offline

#6 2021-04-25 05:43:13

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,527

Re: How can I slow down Desmume's speedup settings?

Then you can't undo what you did when you hit the hotkey before you disabled it via hotkey. You'll have to go to a menu. Config > frameskip > limit framerate. Geeze, if you screw up your config then delete your desmume.ini

Offline

#7 2021-04-25 18:15:47

Chriscftb97
Member
Registered: 2021-04-24
Posts: 4

Re: How can I slow down Desmume's speedup settings?

zeromus wrote:

Then you can't undo what you did when you hit the hotkey before you disabled it via hotkey. You'll have to go to a menu. Cofnig > frameskip > limit framerate. Geeze, if you screw up your config then delete your desmume.ini

Thank you. I spent a while combing through everything and I believe it was because I had 'dynamic recompiler' checked

Offline

#8 2021-04-25 22:30:23

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,527

Re: How can I slow down Desmume's speedup settings?

That's not why. That just exacerbates the problem, which is that you unchecked "limit framerate", by allowing it to run faster when the framerate is unlimited.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB