You are not logged in.

Read the FAQ and Knowledge Base before posting.
We won't make a 3DS/2DS emulator.



#1 2016-09-13 07:38:26

CollegeRant
Member
Registered: 2016-09-13
Posts: 3

Will My System Cut It?

Hi,
   I have recently installed desmume 0.9.11 on my Lappy, but its a pretty old one with possibly obsolete hardware. Before making false assumptions and claims, I would like to let y'all know that I have looked up the minimum system requirements but still there is a lingering doubt in my mind as to whether my system is set for running desmume at a bearable framerate.
   I've tried running pokemon platinum and black but it ends up freezing my system and causes my graphics driver to momentarily stop functioning.
My System Specs
RAM=2GB
Processor=Intel Pentium Dual CPU T3200 @ 2.00 Ghz
OS:Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
HDD=250GB
There you go,these are my specs, I would like to know if it can handle games such as pokemon black,black2,platinum etc.
Thank You For Your Time.

Offline

#2 2016-09-13 08:17:44

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,914

Re: Will My System Cut It?

Do you believe that an inadequate system causes freezing up? That isn't true.

Let's clear up lingering doubts. There's 2 ways.

1. Fix your bugged out system (upgrade/downgrade gpu drivers, change display method, change 3d rendering method to softrasterizer, blow out fans) and find out

2. Analyze

https://www.cpubenchmark.net/CPU_mega_page.html
Intel Pentium T3200 @ 2.00GHz : 1044/681

"What are the minimum hardware requirements for DeSmuME? 2.0 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo or equivalent "
Intel Core2 Duo L7800 @ 2.00GHz : 1116/601  (the least flattering core2 duo @2ghz)

"What are the recommended hardware requirements for DeSmuME? CPU: 3.0 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo or equivalent "
Intel Core2 Duo E6850 @ 3.00GHz : 1959/1135 (the least flattering core2 duo @3ghz)

Therefore your system barely meets the minimum requirements, and doesn't meet the minimum requirements when using 2 cores, which will especially be needed when using softrasterizer, as you may need to do in order to work around your broken gpu.

I would not expect black or black 2 to be enjoyable.
I would expect platinum to be playable.

Offline

#3 2016-09-14 12:55:50

CollegeRant
Member
Registered: 2016-09-13
Posts: 3

Re: Will My System Cut It?

Alright thanks for the grim but obvious truth. Anyways i forgot to mention the name of the laptop.
Its a Compaq Presario CQ45 207TU. Now do you think i might have the slightest chance?

Offline

#4 2016-09-14 15:07:00

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,914

Re: Will My System Cut It?

I've already analyzed the cpu. Besides the gpu, that's all that matters. And your gpu is broken. It's worth trying to fix it though, I'd say theres a fair chance it will help you out to the tune of a dozen fps maybe? I'm just totally guessing here.

Offline

#5 2016-09-15 14:30:44

CollegeRant
Member
Registered: 2016-09-13
Posts: 3

Re: Will My System Cut It?

Thnx for lending some of your precious time to clarify my doubts smile

Offline

#6 2022-08-25 20:45:23

Borom
Member
Registered: 2022-08-25
Posts: 2

Re: Will My System Cut It?

Recently i got a new laptop, i want to install DeSmuME in it, but are kind worried that it might not be able to run it.
I would like to say that I have looked up the minimum system requirements, but still there is a doubt in my mind as to whether my system is set for running desmume at a bearable framerate. Could someone tell me if my pc will be able to run DeSmuME without safely, without causing damage to it and will be able to run all the games.
System specs
processor
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz   1.19 GHz
Ram
8,00 GB
Video
NVIDIA GeForce MX 130
Thank You For Your Time.
Ps: sorry for the grammar english is not my first language.

Offline

#7 2022-08-25 21:22:07

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,914

Re: Will My System Cut It?

1. Why don't you TRY IT AND SEE?
2. it gets turbo 3.6ghz, it's probably good enough. just run it with --num-cores=1 .. and check and make sure that's actually working, in process monitor

Offline

#8 2022-08-26 00:24:44

Borom
Member
Registered: 2022-08-25
Posts: 2

Re: Will My System Cut It?

thank you for your time and for your answer. just for clarification you mean the cpu emulation mode in the desmume settings right.

Offline

#9 2022-08-26 04:33:04

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,914

Re: Will My System Cut It?

nope. I mean literally what I wrote. You may have to ask google for more details or ask someone who knows how to use a computer.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB