You are not logged in.

Read the FAQ and Knowledge Base before posting.
We won't make a 3DS/2DS emulator.



#1 2010-08-16 21:02:08

a55a55in5
Member
Registered: 2010-08-16
Posts: 11

Problem with Pokemon Platinum

Hello.

I am playing pokemon platinum on the latest release, 0.9.6. I began playing the game on one computer and then moved the zip file to another computer and unzipped it there and moved my original save states to the second computer, and have been able to play the game without any problems.

After beating the elite four, the game does a save which isn't a save state, and continuing on with the game depends on that game save. The problem is that the save won't register, and it makes me start over a new game every time i beat the elite four. It's really weird because this problem doesn't exist in the first computer, and I made sure to look at all of the save settings and made the settings for the second computer the same as the first one. Both computers use the same operating system (windows 7). I've been looking online and at the desmume faq and i gather it's because of the save type, but I've tried every single available save type (they don't work), and I don't understand why it would work on the first computer and not on the second. I'd really appreciate some input. Thank you.

Offline

#2 2010-08-16 21:34:16

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,704

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

I am so tired of dealing with this that I made it the 4th question in the faq. I'll paste it here for your convenience.

I am having some problem, any problem whatsoever, using windows Vista or Windows 7. What should I try first?

Run desmume out of a folder in your documents directory, and put all roms etc. in there as well. This is only necessary for individuals who lack the technical ability to wrestle with windows' security system.

Offline

#3 2010-08-16 21:48:55

a55a55in5
Member
Registered: 2010-08-16
Posts: 11

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

Right, I saw that when i read the faq, and tried it but it still doesnt work. I tried running desmume as an admin, re-extracting desmume, re-downloading and then re-extracting, and combinations of everything. It says the game is saved, but when i reset the emulator it starts the game all over. Is there anything else you can recommend?

Offline

#4 2010-08-16 21:51:57

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,704

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

run process monitor and watch what happens to *.dsv. maybe you will get some clues. It is hard to get coherent information out of windows users with this problem, so I havent yet gathered enough data to know why people have such trouble with it.

Note that if you began playing pokemon on a much older version of desmume, then youre screwed. Also, don't use the manual save type setting, it isn't needed anymore.

Offline

#5 2010-08-16 21:58:07

a55a55in5
Member
Registered: 2010-08-16
Posts: 11

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

I looked at the *.dsv file, and I just realized its size is 9kB on the second computer and 513kB on the computer where it worked. I've tried both the 5MB save setting and the auto-detect setting, but it still ends up being 9kB; how do I fix this?

Offline

#6 2010-08-16 22:00:51

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,704

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

try copying over the 513K .dsv file over from the computer where it worked, but that should not be necessary.

Offline

#7 2010-08-16 22:14:57

a55a55in5
Member
Registered: 2010-08-16
Posts: 11

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

I tried copying the 513 K file like you said.

Basically, it looks like the 513 K file is there while i turn on desmume and load the save state, but when the game saves, a 9K version replaces the 513 K file. When I looked at the link on your faq it said the correct save size for platinum was 5MB, so I'm guessing 9K overwriting is the problem, but I tried re-extracting to my documents and moving all the roms like you said, and no matter where it's located the 9K file seems to replace the .dsv when I load the save state and try to save. Is there any way around this?

Offline

#8 2010-08-16 22:26:15

a55a55in5
Member
Registered: 2010-08-16
Posts: 11

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

Sorry, one more thing. I'm pretty sure I never used the in-game save before now on the second computer, but it says there's a save file. I'm guessing that first save file is in the wrong format and won't let the correct type save over it, so is there some way to delete that first 9K save file? deleting the 9K dsv file from the folder doesn't seem to do anything.

Offline

#9 2010-08-16 22:33:40

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,704

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

who said 5MB? It's wrong.

Did you, or did you not, start playing the game in an older version of desmume? If you started playing it in 0.9.6 then did you manually specify the save file size?

You're guessing right about the first save file being in the wrong format. Once it saves in the wrong format, youre screwed utterly and entirely.

Offline

#10 2010-08-16 22:36:56

a55a55in5
Member
Registered: 2010-08-16
Posts: 11

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

I started it in 0.9.6. I pretty sure I left the save file size on auto detect, but I'm not 100% sure. So you're saying that if I did specify it, then I screwed myself over completely and would have to start over, right? If we assume I didn't specify and left it on auto detect, is there anything that could be causing this?

Offline

#11 2010-08-16 22:42:16

yonizaf
Member
Registered: 2009-12-22
Posts: 179

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

the savestate includes the savefile. i.e if you load a state, then the savefile in it will be used, rendering your copied .dsv useless. try loading the 513KB file without opening the savestate, see what it does.
also your savestate could be broken. have you used cheats?

Offline

#12 2010-08-16 22:48:11

a55a55in5
Member
Registered: 2010-08-16
Posts: 11

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

I didn't use any cheats, but I think you just told me why it's not working. I didn't realize the savestate includes the savefile. I must have specified the wrong save type at some point when I used the save states. I just tried starting a new game and saving/using save states, and both seem to work fine now and  the .dsv comes up as a 513K file. Just to make sure, this means that I'm screwed and can't use the old save state files and need to start over, right?

Offline

#13 2010-08-16 22:48:37

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,704

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

I dunno I'm tired of guessing, post your damn savestate. BEFORE the boss battle standing somewhere where i can save.

Offline

#14 2010-08-16 22:51:56

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,704

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

I'm not sure how you could have changed the save file format from 513K (which it must have been at some point or else the 513K .dsv wouldnt exist) to 9K. I'm not sure what happens if you change the savefile size in the emulator after the game is all booted up and initialized. I think it's benign since it only affects the detection and once it is set in stone, it isn't possible to change it. The real test is this: what happens on the first computer if you load a savestate and then use the in-game save? If it dumps a 9K .dsv then the question is answered: the 513K file is from some other time, and the savestates are from a game that started on the wrong save size. I can't explain how the 513K file got there or how it avoided getting overwritten when you started your second game with the wrong save size, which should have caused a 9K file to get dumped.

I am tired of guessing. As I said, send your savestate or else learn the hard way to use in-game saves.

Offline

#15 2010-08-16 23:00:34

a55a55in5
Member
Registered: 2010-08-16
Posts: 11

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

how do I send you the file?

Offline

#16 2010-08-16 23:07:36

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,704

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

sendspace rapidshare etc  you know

Offline

#17 2010-08-16 23:13:21

a55a55in5
Member
Registered: 2010-08-16
Posts: 11

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

Right, I thought you meant send it directly on this forum.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/o9z1aa

I appreciate your taking a look.

Offline

#18 2010-08-17 05:57:59

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,704

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

http://www.sendspace.com/file/3ai67q

here it is fixed. i added some tools which will be in the next desmume release to fix this @#*@ (its the same tools as in the faq when it talks about gocha's 0.9.4+ build, but that build wouldn't do any good for a newer savestate)

Offline

#19 2010-08-17 08:26:31

a55a55in5
Member
Registered: 2010-08-16
Posts: 11

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

How exactly do I use this to fix the problem? the dsv file you gave me is named differently from the save state file i gave you. When i moved the .dsv you gave me into the desmume folder and loaded the save state I gave you and saved, it just made another dsv file with the same name as the save state (9K again). I tried renaming the dsv and the save state file, doesnt seem to work. What'd you do to fix it?

Offline

#20 2010-08-17 08:37:57

a55a55in5
Member
Registered: 2010-08-16
Posts: 11

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

Never mind, I see what you did. It works now, thanks a bunch.

Offline

#21 2010-09-01 00:25:52

jdmagtibay
Member
Registered: 2010-07-20
Posts: 8

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

@zeromus
can you help me with my savestate, if possible. here's the file

http://www.sendspace.com/file/zon4tb

Thanks in advance!!!

Offline

#22 2010-09-01 00:41:17

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,704

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

no, do what i said in the other thread and use the modified 0.9.4 build to do it. reference the faq

Offline

#23 2010-09-01 00:55:34

jdmagtibay
Member
Registered: 2010-07-20
Posts: 8

Re: Problem with Pokemon Platinum

But i'm not really one's who's into programs. i could not understand that "build" thing. did you use any programs?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB