You are not logged in.

Read the FAQ and Knowledge Base before posting.
We won't make a 3DS/2DS emulator.



#1 2013-05-13 12:31:24

Kisuke
Member
Registered: 2013-05-13
Posts: 5

[Linux user] Linux port is kind of behind the times

Hello there

I have observed that DeSmuME Linux port version 0.9.8 had not some extra audio settings compared to Windows version, I have managed to have quite nice audio output with GTK build and sometimes even better with GTK-Glade build (dependin on file loaded I guess)
However now when I have read information that version 0.9.9 has some new JIT Recompiller option avaiable and found out that on Linux port it's not present I got quite sad and had to ask You developers directly...WHY?
Why Linux port seems to be behind the times compared to Windows build?
True is that DeSmuMe long time ago gone ahead of no$gba and overcame it but...

I am Linux user, working on Fedora 18 with latest DeSmuME build avaiable in repository which exactly is

0.9.9-1.fc18

My PC specs are: (if necessary)

CPU - AMD Phenom II X4 945
RAM - 8 GB DDR3 RAM
GPU - AMD Radeon HD 6770 (with 13.1 Catalyst package)
Audio - Realtek ALC892 (according to alsamixer info)
Kernel - 3.8.9-200.fc18.x86_64

Thank You for advance and have a nice day

Kisuke


Yay avatar upload done ^_^
Go Mettaurs!

Offline

#2 2013-05-13 16:28:33

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,847

Re: [Linux user] Linux port is kind of behind the times

as a linux user, you should be using the commandline.
the linux port lags behind the windows port because most of the desmume developers use windows.

Offline

#3 2013-05-13 23:02:57

Squall Leonhart
Member
Registered: 2013-01-22
Posts: 115

Re: [Linux user] Linux port is kind of behind the times

could be rewritten to gnustep if someone cared enough.

would make it comparitive to the osx port then.

Offline

#4 2013-05-23 23:06:31

Kisuke
Member
Registered: 2013-05-13
Posts: 5

Re: [Linux user] Linux port is kind of behind the times

I saw updated post on DeSmuME page and got happy...with one exception
That command works pretty nice with commercial games but when I try to give him homebrew to eat (emulate) it crashes...
If I should post some info that may help the case, please point me which one


Yay avatar upload done ^_^
Go Mettaurs!

Offline

#5 2013-05-23 23:57:25

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,847

Re: [Linux user] Linux port is kind of behind the times

bugtracker at http://sf.net/projects/desmume or post some info here but you may get referred to the bugtracker anyway. try the homebrew without the jit first to isolate that as a problem.

Offline

#6 2013-05-29 02:50:52

Kisuke
Member
Registered: 2013-05-13
Posts: 5

Re: [Linux user] Linux port is kind of behind the times

If that helps, none Homebrew works with JIT enabled and every single one of my cretions (homebrew of course) works fine without JIT
Does it count? :3
This is last few lines of log that seems to be important however partially in polish it is...

CPU mode: JIT
JIT: max block size 100 instruction(s)
desmume: arm_jit.cpp:3939: void sync_r15(u32, bool, bool): Warunek zapewnienia `!instr_uses_r15(opcode)' nie został spełniony.
Przerwane (core dumped)

Yay avatar upload done ^_^
Go Mettaurs!

Offline

#7 2013-05-29 14:39:16

Squall Leonhart
Member
Registered: 2013-01-22
Posts: 115

Re: [Linux user] Linux port is kind of behind the times

You have the jit size set to max and complain about it breaking!

Offline

#8 2013-05-29 16:54:18

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,847

Re: [Linux user] Linux port is kind of behind the times

its possible that devkitarm or libnds use an instruction which hasnt been handle by the jit yet, and which no retail games use.

Offline

#9 2013-05-29 17:27:34

CrazyMax
Administrator
From: Ukraine
Registered: 2007-10-26
Posts: 121

Re: [Linux user] Linux port is kind of behind the times

maybe it happens only on Linux (Linux using not mapped memory for JIT)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB