You are not logged in.

Read the FAQ and Knowledge Base before posting.
We won't make a 3DS/2DS emulator.



#1 2012-07-13 02:12:12

BugBuster
Member
Registered: 2012-07-13
Posts: 2

Save Import Bug

Hey all, I'm a new tech who has just started using Des. I have some experience coding with Java using BlueJ, but not much, I hack android phones (Just got a job for a cellphone company), and for a while I was a tester for Motorola products (in other words I reported bugs on phones before their release and got free unlimited data for it plus cool new phones every few months).

     Now that introductions are in order, I have bug to report... big surprise. It regards Des 0.9.8 64-bit version. When I first got it, I wanted to import my old save file... but I had a problem. This file happened to be 512kb .sav file. However when I would import it turned into either a 33 or a 30.1kb .dsv (which I am assuming stands for DesMuMe Save). The emulator would still run the game, however it kept opening up as if there was no save data.

I'm on:
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
HP Pavilion dv7
AMD Phenom II N830 Triple-Core 2.10 HHz
4GB of RAM

If I am missing any important information you need let me know. And if you guys want to to test a specific feature of DES, let me know. I really want to learn and help out; I am still very new to Des, but if you guys give me pointers and what not as I go I'm sure I can help with almost anything.

Offline

#2 2012-07-13 02:56:57

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,710

Re: Save Import Bug

import your old save from where? old saves are sometimes broken and unrecoverable. which game are you using?

Offline

#3 2012-07-13 23:36:13

BugBuster
Member
Registered: 2012-07-13
Posts: 2

Re: Save Import Bug

Your going to kick me for saying this... Pokemon Black. I wish I could always use save files from different games to test it. I think it might be best to test the imports with different size save files. Anyone have a random list of games that includes one game from every save size? XD. But it was definitely not broken. Des 0.9.6 successfully loaded it, modified it, ect. But like I said, converting the file using a different program worked.

Offline

#4 2012-07-13 23:50:09

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,710

Re: Save Import Bug

then load it in desmume 0.9.6 and then paste the .dsv into 0.9.8.
i imported a 512KB .sav file into desmume 0.9.8 x86 and it turned into a 512KB .dsv file.  either youre doing something wrong or it doesnt work in 64bits for some reason. You could try listing some of the information presented in the import backup memory dialog

Offline

#5 2012-07-18 02:41:11

KazoWAR
Member
Registered: 2009-09-19
Posts: 47

Re: Save Import Bug

It seems the emulator will default to EEPROM 4kbit when you attempt to import a save the same time the emulator is ran with no dsv for the game.

Offline

#6 2012-07-18 17:36:07

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,710

Re: Save Import Bug

how do you even import a save file fast enough or the emulator to have no dsv? virtually every game initializes the save data like in frame 0. anyway, if it wasnt initialized yet, sure, i guess it could default to 4Kbit. in the screen that plainly tells you its 4Kbit and gives you lots of options.

Offline

#7 2012-07-22 06:53:30

KazoWAR
Member
Registered: 2009-09-19
Posts: 47

Re: Save Import Bug

if a game is ran with no dsv file, even after the emulator makes one the proper size, the default options to import a sav is still EEPROM 4kbit no matter how long it is ran. It is only updated to the correct information when the game is ran a second time.

Last edited by KazoWAR (2012-07-22 11:07:44)

Offline

#8 2012-07-22 19:38:33

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,710

Re: Save Import Bug

not for me. not even with pokemon black. weird.

Offline

#9 2012-09-06 14:10:02

dasme67
Member
Registered: 2012-09-02
Posts: 12

Re: Save Import Bug

Well, saving from different versions on pokemon black would be impossible since it uses different format for I know. Can you convert this type of file for further use?

Offline

#10 2012-09-06 17:12:08

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,710

Re: Save Import Bug

what are you talking about? since _what_ uses a different format?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB