You are not logged in.

Read the FAQ and Knowledge Base before posting.
We won't make a 3DS/2DS emulator.



#1 2009-03-17 10:03:04

p4_ent
Member
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 3

GTA Chinatown Wars

Hi there,

I tried to launch GTA:CW with Desmume 0.8 on Intrepid.
A black screen appears : "Saving. Please do not power off the DS or remove the Game Card."
A .sav file is actually created in the rom folder.
And that's all. The game never starts.

Offline

#2 2009-03-17 11:20:11

lbalbalba
Member
Registered: 2009-03-13
Posts: 229

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

Well first off, you seem to be using an older version of DeSmuME - the current stable release is at 0.9.1.


Second, you could try out all the other 'save states', by selecting 'Config|Save Type' in the menu. Try out the first savetype, see if it starts, then try out the next savetype, etc.

Last edited by lbalbalba (2009-03-17 11:20:27)

Offline

#3 2009-03-17 11:53:25

p4_ent
Member
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 3

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

OK I downloaded 0.9.1.
I'm kinda newbie with Ubuntu and Linux world. I understood I had to compile somehow the software but.. How ? smile
The config menu in 0.8 version allows me to edit controls but nothing else.
Thx

Offline

#4 2009-03-17 16:58:14

lbalbalba
Member
Registered: 2009-03-13
Posts: 229

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

Im sorry, I missed that you were using the Linux version, and mistakenly thought that you were using the Windows version. As far as I can tell, the Linux 'config' menu is indeed much more limited than in Windows. Even with 0.9.1 on Linux, you still only get 'Config|Edit Controls', and there are no options for selecting different types of savestates. Perhaps there are command line options for this on Linux, or perhaps those options are just not present ? Maybe a developer can help out here.
wink

And I don't mind posting instructions on how to compile, but let's first determine if running 0.9.1 would help out here, ok ?
wink

Offline

#5 2009-03-18 08:59:14

indiandude
Member
Registered: 2009-03-05
Posts: 4

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

The game works perfectly on the latest svn though i havnt tried it on 0.9.1

Offline

#6 2009-03-18 14:32:14

Euqinu
Member
Registered: 2009-03-18
Posts: 1

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

Hey guys, i've been trying to get Chinatown wars working all day on iDeaS, no$gba and now DeSmuME, but not having any luck - the furthest I got was the "Saving. Please do not power off the DS or remove the Game Card." message.

Can anyone give me any tips on how to get this working please?

(I will be buying this game on Friday...I just think it sucks that England gets this game after America...even though the game was made a couple of miles away from where I live!!)

Offline

#7 2009-03-19 07:52:39

indiandude
Member
Registered: 2009-03-05
Posts: 4

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

Euqinu wrote:

Hey guys, i've been trying to get Chinatown wars working all day on iDeaS, no$gba and now DeSmuME, but not having any luck - the furthest I got was the "Saving. Please do not power off the DS or remove the Game Card." message.

Can anyone give me any tips on how to get this working please?

(I will be buying this game on Friday...I just think it sucks that England gets this game after America...even though the game was made a couple of miles away from where I live!!)

Dude it works perfect in the latest svn of Desmume and no$2.6a/Ideas is unable to boot it.

Offline

#8 2009-03-20 13:21:11

lbalbalba
Member
Registered: 2009-03-13
Posts: 229

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

indiandude wrote:

Dude it works perfect in the latest svn of Desmume and no$2.6a/Ideas is unable to boot it.

It appears to work just fine on DeSmuME 0.9.1 x86 as well - although a bit slowly. The same version also runs on my Linux Fedora 10 system. It does indeed start out with the message "Saving. Please do not power off the DS or remove the Game Card.", but that disappears after a few seconds and from then on the game appears to run normally.

Last edited by lbalbalba (2009-03-20 13:30:53)

Offline

#9 2009-03-20 14:06:44

lbalbalba
Member
Registered: 2009-03-13
Posts: 229

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

p4_ent wrote:

OK I downloaded 0.9.1.
I'm kinda newbie with Ubuntu and Linux world. I understood I had to compile somehow the software but.. How ? smile
Thx

Well, in order to compile the source, download it, then gunzip it (gunzip desmume-0.9.1.tar.gz), and then untar it (tar xvf desmume-0.9.1.tar). Next, cd to the new directory, and type ./configure, followed by make, and - as the 'root' user, make install.

Offline

#10 2009-03-21 18:45:27

baalzebul
Member
Registered: 2009-03-21
Posts: 1

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

indiandude wrote:

The game works perfectly on the latest svn though i havnt tried it on 0.9.1

What do you mean with "on the latest svn"? What's "svn"?

Offline

#11 2009-03-21 20:32:15

lbalbalba
Member
Registered: 2009-03-13
Posts: 229

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

baalzebul wrote:
indiandude wrote:

The game works perfectly on the latest svn though i havnt tried it on 0.9.1

What do you mean with "on the latest svn"? What's "svn"?

'svn' is a source code revisioning system - usefull to developers. But I tried it with the DeSmuME 0.9.1 x86 binary provided on the download page of the desmume website as well, and that worked.

Offline

#12 2009-03-22 18:07:37

darjan007
Member
Registered: 2009-03-22
Posts: 1

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

On DeSmuME 0.9.1 gta chinatown wars runs a bit slowly. What should i do to make it run smoothly? Does anyone have this problem too?

Offline

#13 2009-03-23 07:05:59

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,651

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

Time for a little life lesson. Sometimes software runs slow on your computer. You have to upgrade the computer, wait for new versions of the software, or pay the developer's rent to give him an incentive to make new versions faster. You can also perform a blasphemous ritual to summon a speed demon. On rare occasions the faq is known to address performance issues: http://wiki.desmume.org/index.php?title=Faq

You might want to ask your parents about the birds and the bees too, while youre at it. 

And finally, I am guessing that yes, other people on computers from 1997 have this problem also. Also folks on computers from 2009 probably have it as well.

Last edited by zeromus (2009-03-23 07:07:00)

Offline

#14 2009-03-23 08:56:01

lbalbalba
Member
Registered: 2009-03-13
Posts: 229

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

zeromus wrote:

pay the developer's rent to give him an incentive to make new versions faster.

Just out of curiosity: How would one go about making donations for specific features, and what amount of $$ donations would we be talking about here ?

Offline

#15 2009-04-08 12:47:44

p4_ent
Member
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 3

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

OK thanks to getdeb website, I get a package of 0.9.1 for ubuntu
I tried, as I was told, several types.. well every type, of savegame.
Still the same issue : Kind of freeze when creating the .sav (gtk or glade mode)
Anyone ?

Offline

#16 2009-04-19 17:51:57

Chizwakit
Member
Registered: 2009-04-19
Posts: 3

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

I have noticed that the black outlines that are ment to give the game its cartoony look are mostly missing except on the actor models.

I originally thought it was an OpenGL renderer limitation but it also happens with the Software renderer.

Offline

#17 2009-04-19 18:16:56

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,651

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

There is a feature 'edge marking' which opengl will probably never support and software rasterizer will definitely one day, but doesnt now. If you were to post a savestate from a part of that game where you think there should be edge marking, I will give it a shot.

Offline

#18 2009-04-19 18:44:09

Chizwakit
Member
Registered: 2009-04-19
Posts: 3

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

pretty much every edge needs to be black, including the rain which is invisble without it.
bullet tracing needs it too,though that is orange or red, at the moment only the muzzle flash is visible.

I can upload a save file if really nessessary, but really all you need to do is start the game and see it missing in the starting 3D animation with the jet coming into Liberty City.

Also I am using a USA Rom. The game seems to be running perfectly aside from edge marking.

Here is the requested .sav

http://rapidshare.com/files/223457539/G … s.sav.html

Last edited by Chizwakit (2009-04-20 05:06:21)

Offline

#19 2009-04-24 08:28:43

Chizwakit
Member
Registered: 2009-04-19
Posts: 3

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

I've been testing svn builds compiled by Orleans and I have to say, the cartoony outlines are starting to appear on some of the geometry including the rain, though very faintly. Good work DeSmuME Team, I'm looking forward to further updates smile

Last edited by Chizwakit (2009-04-24 08:30:25)

Offline

#20 2009-04-24 16:51:25

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,651

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

hmm i havent worked on it yet. maybe it was several bugs and some of them got fixed for other reasons. i will post here when i finally add edge marking.

Offline

#21 2010-05-04 18:56:14

T4b
Member
Registered: 2010-05-04
Posts: 3

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

I tried it with 0.9.5, but I have excatly that problem, with the Saving screen. I started desmume in a terminal and that was the output:

COMMAND7: Unhandled Backup Memory command: B7 FROM 038004B8
COMMAND7: Unhandled Backup Memory command: 1F FROM 038004B8
COMMAND7: Unhandled Backup Memory command: 60 FROM 038004B8

This 3 lines were repeated endless until I terminated the programm.

Offline

#22 2010-05-04 20:45:24

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,651

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

delete your .sav and .dsv files and try again. that isnt normal. i just tested and it doesnt happen to me.

Offline

#23 2010-05-05 13:29:56

T4b
Member
Registered: 2010-05-04
Posts: 3

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

It still doesn't work after I deleted every file of desmume which I could find in my ~/ folder.

Which Save Type should I choose in Config=>Saves ? Maybe that is wrong (although it's on "Auto" now and I tried every possibility yesterday, but without deleting the save files between that).

Last edited by T4b (2010-05-05 13:50:54)

Offline

#24 2010-05-05 16:09:22

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,651

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

auto should be working. check advanscene.com for the correct save size. i guess theres just a bug in the build/port/compilation of the emulator that youre using, or your rom is bad. I only tried the US version of the game.

Offline

#25 2010-05-05 20:10:14

T4b
Member
Registered: 2010-05-04
Posts: 3

Re: GTA Chinatown Wars

I downloaded the src here and compiled it. That doesn't work either. I'll try it with the US version of the game. I have currently the European version.


Edit: It seems to be that the Rom was broken - I downloaded an other one (US) and that works.

Last edited by T4b (2010-05-06 13:05:24)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB