You are not logged in.

Read the FAQ and Knowledge Base before posting.
WiFi not emulated and not supported!!
We won't make a 3DS/2DS emulator.



#1 2010-04-26 23:13:00

Texane
Member
Registered: 2010-04-26
Posts: 4

*MAY* have fixed Speed problem

Using DeSmuME compared to NO$GBA, I found that the only thing that NO$GBA had better was the compatibility list and the speed. >.< I would run all my roms at a speed of 12-20 fps, and believe me.. I don't have a slow computer.. Well I was tinkering around with the Configurations and found a solution that worked on All my roms.. They are now all running at a maxed 60 fps...

What I did: (I use Windows with DeSmuME 0.9.5 x64 and was running a game at the time so I could notice a difference.)
1:From the DeSmuME window, I clicked on Config and went to Frame Skip and made sure Fixed Skip was set to '0 (Never Skip)'
2:From the same Config drop-down menu, go to Frame Skip and make sure 'limit framerate' is unchecked.
3: Next in the same Config drop-down menu, click '3D Settings' and in 'Renderer' choose 'SoftRasterizer'.
4: Lastly, go back to 'Limit Framerate' and Check it again.

This fixed my problem with all my games, hopefully it will for anyone else.

As I said, I had 12-20/30 fps, when I unchecked the framerate limit, and switched the Renderer, it jumped to 180/30 fps.. so then i went back to Framerate Limit and checked it, which took me to 60/30 fps, b/c while it was at 180/30 it was moving in Fast Motion.   tongue

Offline

#2 2010-04-26 23:23:40

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,217

Re: *MAY* have fixed Speed problem

congratulations, but next time read the faq. Also your results are atypical. You must have a glitchy 3d card.

Offline

#3 2010-04-26 23:28:18

Texane
Member
Registered: 2010-04-26
Posts: 4

Re: *MAY* have fixed Speed problem

I have a new Laptop/3D Card and most solutions to most things in life are atypical. tongue
I did read the FAQ, btw. Thx for the congrats, tho. And I am sorry if this fixes nobody else's problem and this ends up being a waste of space >.<

I still have the problem of no Touchscreen sad

Also.... Have you ever played WoW?.... There was a character named Zeromus that was well-known on the server I was on before I stopped playing.... O.o

Last edited by Texane (2010-04-26 23:29:37)

Offline

#4 2010-04-27 00:14:07

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,217

Re: *MAY* have fixed Speed problem

New 3d cards can be glitchy. If you were getting 12 fps in a game with opengl and then 180 with rasterizer, then I think you have a glitchy 3d card. Of couse without knowing the hardware or the game, who can say for sure..

Offline

#5 2010-04-27 00:22:17

Texane
Member
Registered: 2010-04-26
Posts: 4

Re: *MAY* have fixed Speed problem

Well, it worked for me, so... yeah, who can say for sure ^.^

So... about the WoW thing >.>... Lol, If you can't or don't wanna answer just let me know.. I just don't know if you overlooked that or not.. Sry ahead of time.. >.<

EDIT: If at least 1 or 2 People can try this and let me know if it worked for them, I'd be happy. smile

Last edited by Texane (2010-04-27 00:23:21)

Offline

#6 2010-04-27 10:05:00

Domino
Member
Registered: 2009-07-18
Posts: 20

Re: *MAY* have fixed Speed problem

I believe the name Zeromus most likely comes from Final Fantasy IV's last boss but I may be wrong.

Offline

#7 2010-04-27 15:42:00

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,217

Re: *MAY* have fixed Speed problem

I played wow for a few months but the only thing i was renowned for is running across zones shouting PANTS PANTS PANTS

Texane, I'm pretty sure it will work for most people. Software rasterizer is faster in most games and systems.

Edit - But not nearly as well as it did for you, since most people dont have glitched 3d cards

Offline

#8 2010-04-27 15:49:05

Caxxo
Member
Registered: 2010-04-27
Posts: 11

Re: *MAY* have fixed Speed problem

I tried it.
Went to 60-62.

Offline

#9 2010-04-28 00:05:17

XMSFel6
Member
Registered: 2009-02-27
Posts: 69

Re: *MAY* have fixed Speed problem

Nice job improving ur situation, but this method isn't novel. I assume most people have already been using the software rasterizer, which is faster than OpenGL anyway. So in the end, switch to Software Rasterizer to increase your speed for anyway not already using it.

And it's true, Zeromus is the final boss of Final Fantasy IV. You can also battle and obtain Zeromus as an esper in Final Fantasy XII for anyone interested.

Offline

#10 2010-04-28 04:03:58

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,217

Re: *MAY* have fixed Speed problem

I am getting tired of defending the opengl renderer, since i never use it and it isnt the default anymore, but honor compels me to point out that SOMETIMES it is faster.

Offline

#11 2010-04-28 22:02:30

XMSFel6
Member
Registered: 2009-02-27
Posts: 69

Re: *MAY* have fixed Speed problem

zeromus wrote:

I am getting tired of defending the opengl renderer, since i never use it and it isnt the default anymore, but honor compels me to point out that SOMETIMES it is faster.

Alright point taken smile

Offline

#12 2010-04-28 23:41:44

Texane
Member
Registered: 2010-04-26
Posts: 4

Re: *MAY* have fixed Speed problem

Lol, the Zeromus on my server was an Undead Rogue going around killing all the alliance, he had his own personal healer with him at all times so the same couldnt happen to him, cowardly but smart...

J/w, but why do u keep insisting on me having a glitchy 3d card? I may or may not, but what brings u to that assumption? J/w...

Offline

#13 2010-04-29 01:36:14

Manivo
Awesome Possum
Registered: 2009-02-15
Posts: 655

Re: *MAY* have fixed Speed problem

Because that sharp a contrast between opengl and softrasterizer implies there is a problem with your graphics card. Either it's broken, it's antiquated, or the drivers are messed up.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB