You are not logged in.

Read the FAQ and Knowledge Base before posting.
We won't make a 3DS/2DS emulator.



#1 2023-06-20 15:35:29

FFIVGUY
Member
Registered: 2023-06-19
Posts: 1

Cheat Engine codes not working with new version

I downloaded version 9.13 and loaded the ROM I wanted to play and opened the process in cheat engine, but the codes were no longer working properly because they were probably at a different address than they were with 9.11. Is there a way to get them to work without having to search for all the addresses again

Offline

#2 2023-06-21 18:34:53

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 6,195

Re: Cheat Engine codes not working with new version

no. Learn how to build AR codes from your findings in cheat engine

Offline

#3 2023-06-22 20:51:42

qatesting
Member
Registered: 2023-06-22
Posts: 5

Re: Cheat Engine codes not working with new version

I can CONFIRM that something changed with the cheat system between
desmume-0.9.11-win64 and desmume-0.9.13-win64

A new search was preformed (in both versions)  to find a number for quantity of items in SaGa 2: Hihou Densetsu - Goddess of Destiny
1st slot 1st character and the unique address was found and set to quantity of 1 less then what was in game.
Both versions preformed the searches exactly the same but when adding the code only the old version actually made the change.

I can repeat this for many other variables but so far its been the same the values only change in the older version.

Thank you!

Last edited by qatesting (2023-06-22 20:52:38)

Offline

#4 2023-06-22 21:58:22

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 6,195

Re: Cheat Engine codes not working with new version

"adding the code"
Adding what code? What kind of code? Made how? Example?

Offline

#5 2023-06-22 23:02:16

qatesting
Member
Registered: 2023-06-22
Posts: 5

Re: Cheat Engine codes not working with new version

Using the built in cheat system to search a data address with change values.

https://wiki.desmume.org/index.php?titl … in_DeSmuMe

Same process was used in both versions using the same rom using the same searches
Desired address was found by multiple searches for the value as it changed

Let's assume you are playing a game in which the value of first character's item has 50 uses.  We want to either freeze that value or increase it.

1. The size of the data in this case is only 255 max so we a single byte

2. Click "search", and enter use value of the long sword in the next window. In this case, it's 50. Click "search again".

3. Close the cheat searching window and we swap the long sword with 50 user with a potion with 4 uses

4. Go back into the search menu, and this time run a search for 4. What actually happened is that in the above search the emulator found all of the addresses that at the time of the search were equal to 50 and saved them. This second search is called a filter search - it goes through the previous found addresses and finds the ones that changed to 4. This essentially weeds out addresses that matched the initial search by coincidence in order to find the desired address.

5. After the second search, the number of results shown should be considerably lower. At this time there are three options: either there is only one result left, there are more than one, or there are none.  There were two results left in this case.
6. Click "view", and a window with the address and the value will appear. Click the line that holds the current health points value, and click "Add".

7. Change the value in the new window to 49 for one of them and 48 for the other one.
Then we go into game and see if one of those value replaced 50.   In this case 48 uses replaced whatever item is placed in the first slot.
This worked for both the Long Sword and Potion (48 is not possible in the normal game for potion)

Whereas the process in the guide above worked for 0.9.11 it does not work in the new version.
The search system works fine in both versions give the same results (as it should with the same rom)
but when clicking ADD cheats they do not function in the new version.

I'm experience user who has been using desmume for its entire existence and there have been times in the past where cheats were broken in a release and fixed in another so its not unusual.

Last edited by qatesting (2023-06-22 23:13:09)

Offline

#6 2023-06-23 07:13:58

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 6,195

Re: Cheat Engine codes not working with new version

I followed your steps to freeze coins at 22 in super princess peach (US) in desmume 0.9.13 by picking up the first 5 coins in 1-1 and using the ram search feature. The cheat was remembered inbetween desmume sessions. It found 02274ED4 which contains the ones and tens digit in BCD.

Please test your steps with the scenario I outlined (it can be done in less than 30 seconds, as compared to I don't even want to guess how long in your long-ass RPG)

Offline

#7 2023-06-23 11:46:52

qatesting
Member
Registered: 2023-06-22
Posts: 5

Re: Cheat Engine codes not working with new version

After the party creation and story intro finishes it takes 30s to search just like peach.
Before I even post on forum I double checked this.   Sorry I if you didn't read into this I had tested this in several games.
I can repeat this for many other variables but so far its been the same the values only change in the older version.

super princess peach coins valued search value narrowed and set
new copy extracted to clean folder desmume 0.9.13
search works fine exactly as you suggested but the added codes do not change anything in game
Check mark next to code shows enabled
Nothing changed

desmume 0.9.11 super peach value search valued narrowed and set
Added codes work perfectly fine here
You can change the value and that also works here

Cheats have broken like this in previous versions and were fixed in later. 

Windows 11 Pro

Device name    AROG
Processor    AMD Ryzen 9 5900HX with Radeon Graphics           3.30 GHz
Installed RAM    16.0 GB (15.4 GB usable)
Device ID    30EB9BA2-C9FE-47F5-AA2D-D7D4AFA80977
Product ID    00330-81610-59603-AA856
System type    64-bit operating system, x64-based processor
Pen and touch    No pen or touch input is available for this display
Device name    AROG
Processor    AMD Ryzen 9 5900HX with Radeon Graphics           3.30 GHz
Installed RAM    16.0 GB (15.4 GB usable)
Device ID    30EB9BA2-C9FE-47F5-AA2D-D7D4AFA80977
Product ID    00330-81610-59603-AA856
System type    64-bit operating system, x64-based processor
Pen and touch    No pen or touch input is available for this display

Last edited by qatesting (2023-06-23 12:01:48)

Offline

#8 2023-06-24 07:42:47

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 6,195

Re: Cheat Engine codes not working with new version

Super princess peach scenario works for me and not for you.
I have no explanation.
Record a video proving it?

Offline

#9 2023-06-24 14:57:50

qatesting
Member
Registered: 2023-06-22
Posts: 5

Re: Cheat Engine codes not working with new version

https://www.veed.io/view/dec12152-e100- … anel=share

Value set to 22 does not change in game values.

Last edited by qatesting (2023-06-25 12:08:49)

Offline

#10 2023-06-25 02:09:58

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 6,195

Re: Cheat Engine codes not working with new version

This video isn’t ready
Ask the video creator to sign up and share this with you again to preview.

Offline

#11 2023-06-25 12:13:04

qatesting
Member
Registered: 2023-06-22
Posts: 5

Re: Cheat Engine codes not working with new version

Try it again.

Offline

#12 2023-06-25 22:26:08

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 6,195

Re: Cheat Engine codes not working with new version

I use ram search feature. You use cheat search. I used super princess peach US. You must have used EU because I don't recognize the address it found.
In 0.9.11 the cheat search gives me 0x02274ED4. It is a bus-relative address. This cheat will work.
In 0.9.13 the cheat search gives me 0x00274ED4. This is a main memory-relative address. This cheat will not work.
Your problem description "Cheat Engine codes not working with new version" is not accurate. A more accurate description is: "Cheat search results view produces strange cheats without 0x02 that don't work."

It was broken by 9767f793460917931a85735c7d9eaffe2fc691bc "support cheats to any address, not just main memory." At that time I blindly removed built-in assumptions that the cheat engine would work on main memory only, one of which was to add the initial 0x02xxxxxx to a xxxxxx main memory address in order to create the bus-relative address. TBH I didn't even really know that cheat search window exists (it's terrible and you should use ram search instead) so I didn't check to see whether it still works.

Fixed in https://github.com/TASEmulators/desmume … 6b8d7de90e

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB