You are not logged in.

Read the FAQ and Knowledge Base before posting.
WiFi not emulated and not supported!!
We won't make a 3DS/2DS emulator.



#1 2019-02-09 06:32:48

twilighthero13
Member
Registered: 2019-02-09
Posts: 9

save state failed to load error

happened after leaving computer on and exceeding 999 hours.. any possible fixes ? i have the .ds file

Offline

#2 2019-02-09 07:51:24

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,033

Re: save state failed to load error

there's no such thing as a .ds file, so I don't know what you mean.
I'm doubtful that 999 hours has to do with anything. Where did you get 999 from? Define "failed to load" error. Most likely explanation is your computer (for whatever reason) or your kid brother (for whatever reason) deleted your savestate file so that it's no longer there and can't be loaded. The savestate doesn't know anything about how many hours it's been, so that wouldnt affect whether it loads. You must have missed some other detail and jumped to a wrong conclusion.

Offline

#3 2019-02-09 14:29:38

twilighthero13
Member
Registered: 2019-02-09
Posts: 9

Re: save state failed to load error

it's .ds1 and the first file for that game in the states folder. i can screenshot the error msg but i dont think it would help much

Offline

#4 2019-02-09 14:50:31

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,033

Re: save state failed to load error

actually the most likely explanation is that you updated desmume versions and expected the savestates to be compatible

Offline

#5 2019-02-09 15:15:07

twilighthero13
Member
Registered: 2019-02-09
Posts: 9

Re: save state failed to load error

no because the .ds2 save state works which is older and there hasnt been an update

Offline

#6 2019-02-09 16:03:51

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,033

Re: save state failed to load error

you havent told me the whole story yet. you left your computer on for 999 hours, and then.....? you must have done something. saved in-game, or savestated, or something else.

Offline

#7 2019-02-09 19:48:14

twilighthero13
Member
Registered: 2019-02-09
Posts: 9

Re: save state failed to load error

the save state was from december and this happened yesterday. tried loading up the save state normally but got the error and that was it

Last edited by twilighthero13 (2019-02-09 19:55:54)

Offline

#8 2019-02-09 21:54:04

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,033

Re: save state failed to load error

and your evidence that 999 hours has anything to do with it is....?

Offline

#9 2019-02-09 22:17:48

twilighthero13
Member
Registered: 2019-02-09
Posts: 9

Re: save state failed to load error

tbh i hope that wasnt the cause but the .ds1 file size is somehow smaller than the older save state (.ds2) and when i initially loaded the game(without save states) the game started up at 999 hours and the rest is history

Offline

#10 2019-02-09 23:13:46

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,033

Re: save state failed to load error

smaller how much

Offline

#11 2019-02-10 00:03:10

twilighthero13
Member
Registered: 2019-02-09
Posts: 9

Re: save state failed to load error

zeromus can you help me ? or am i giving you all this info in vain (no offense)

Offline

#12 2019-02-10 00:44:52

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,033

Re: save state failed to load error

you think I racked up 4,897 posts NOT helping people?

But probably not in this case. First, because I don't think you're capable of delivering the required information. Second, because now it's seeming like some unknown external force corrupted your savestate.

Offline

#13 2019-02-10 00:58:17

twilighthero13
Member
Registered: 2019-02-09
Posts: 9

Re: save state failed to load error

the battery save file doesnt seem to be working properly either. but trust me, i can deliver. what i want to know if anyone has recovered a save state before ?

Offline

#14 2019-02-10 01:21:07

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,033

Re: save state failed to load error

only people who had their system taking automated backups. the battery save may have become broken when you loaded the broken state. loading a fixed state would bring a fixed save file along with it.

Offline

#15 2019-02-10 02:30:12

twilighthero13
Member
Registered: 2019-02-09
Posts: 9

Re: save state failed to load error

automated backups ? could u pls elaborate (r they similar to system restore?)

Offline

#16 2019-02-10 04:43:09

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,033

Re: save state failed to load error

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB