You are not logged in.

Read the FAQ and Knowledge Base before posting.
WiFi not emulated and not supported!!
We won't make a 3DS/2DS emulator.



#1 2018-08-01 10:13:37

fintogive
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2014-04-11
Posts: 263
Website

a few issues

i noticed unchecking (maintain aspect ratio)  and trying to stretch the window horizontally it  instead snaps to the edges of my screen and wont let me resize it to what i want.


the other issues is with amd radeon graphics cards (specifically the rx580) using mario kart ds on cheap cheap beach and opengl set to the default 18 bit color the graphics look glitchy and screwed up.

i thought the graphics card was faulty but it doesn't do this with opengl on dolphin emulator.  this is with the latest driver and i also tested earlier driver it does the same thing.

can these issues be fixed?

Offline

#2 2018-08-01 11:59:36

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4,812

Re: a few issues

1. works fine for me. maybe it's windows 7+ snap features interfering. disable them for this window.
2. works fine for me, and quite implausible. this for the most part doesn't even affect what your GPU does during 3d rendering, as the 24/18/15 setting is largely applied during compositing 3d and 2d. it's possible it changes some tiny detail of how the 3d rendering works though. it's also quite implausible that this would only happen in cheep cheep beach. since you admitted you have AMD graphics, then it's certain your GPU is faulty.

Offline

#3 2018-08-02 06:19:05

fintogive
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2014-04-11
Posts: 263
Website

Re: a few issues

i check the snap to option is off for my windows 7 computer.  desmume is the only program i have this difficulty with.

i tried other builds of desmume they yielded similar results  the stable release didnt have any issues  and it doesnt seem to matter what i have it set to color bits, resolution,  tex scale, or course im on.  its only on layered textures such as shadows under the kart or transparent polys.  it doesn't always show immediately either  changing the setting will make it show.  i dont think the gpu is faulty since it works fine with other games and emulators in opengl mode.

also i'll add that this is a fresh install of windows 10 1803 for the amd gpu issue.  the gpu is new and was handled in a static free zone

Last edited by fintogive (2018-08-02 11:01:09)

Offline

#4 2018-08-02 15:12:45

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4,812

Re: a few issues

1. then you have some other "desktop enhancement" software active
2. it's AMD's drivers that are the problem, not the hardware. you may need to change config>display method since that affects your driver.

Offline

#5 2018-08-03 07:01:18

fintogive
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2014-04-11
Posts: 263
Website

Re: a few issues

ok well it should be looked into.  if its pre set to opengl it works fine its when ever i change a setting in the 3d settings wile the game is running and this happens.  i tried the last build source forge had and it worked fine there but all of the builds for the past 6 months  have this issue.  i also tried a driver that was a year out of date for the GPU but the results were the same.

here what it looks like
blob:https://imgur.com/d1417167-7561-4158-929f-f743f421be86

Offline

#6 2018-08-03 09:47:40

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4,812

Re: a few issues

That URL is broken.

And we would have noticed if changing 3d settings broke games for the past 6 months. your gpu must be dead. blow the dust out of the fans or something. I guarantee you 100% if you put in another GPU the problem will be gone.

Offline

#7 2018-08-07 09:13:45

fintogive
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2014-04-11
Posts: 263
Website

Re: a few issues

sorry here
https://i.imgur.com/deSRhaa.png

and ok  i just find it funny everything else ive run on it worked perfectly fine.  it doesnt really matter to me cause the gpu was for a customer at my shop.  i didnt buy it they brought it in new and wanted it installed. so i figured i'd test it out to see how well it performed.  not the results i was looking for i'll say that.  but it did work find with dolphin project 64 and gta 5 fine

Last edited by fintogive (2018-08-07 09:25:29)

Offline

#8 2018-08-08 03:35:54

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4,812

Re: a few issues

different programs work the GPU differently. different driver versions have different bugs. you have the only gpu in the world with this problem. it's a problem with the gpu until I see a lick of evidence contrariwise. I even checked with delfino square and yoshi and couldnt find a problem.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB