You are not logged in.

Read the FAQ and Knowledge Base before posting.
WiFi not emulated and not supported!!
We won't make a 3DS/2DS emulator.



#1 2017-11-03 01:22:04

CPU_Master
Member
Registered: 2017-11-03
Posts: 5

golden sun dark dawn djinn bug

Hello. I tried Golden Sun Dark Dawn with the latest version of DeSmume and if you have any djinn on standby they will show up transparent when you go into battle but on a real DS they aren't transparent.


My specs:
GPU: Intel HD Graphics 530
CPU: Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 2.60GHz with Turbo Boost up to 3.5GHz, 4 Cores, 8 Threads
RAM: 8 GB

Offline

#2 2017-11-03 02:54:56

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4,670

Re: golden sun dark dawn djinn bug

define "latest version"

Offline

#3 2017-11-03 09:04:21

CPU_Master
Member
Registered: 2017-11-03
Posts: 5

Re: golden sun dark dawn djinn bug

latest stable version which is v0.9.11.

Last edited by CPU_Master (2017-11-03 09:09:26)


My specs:
GPU: Intel HD Graphics 530
CPU: Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 2.60GHz with Turbo Boost up to 3.5GHz, 4 Cores, 8 Threads
RAM: 8 GB

Offline

#4 2017-11-03 15:08:49

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4,670

Re: golden sun dark dawn djinn bug

change the 3d renderer or use a newer nightly build

Offline

#5 2017-11-03 16:58:13

CPU_Master
Member
Registered: 2017-11-03
Posts: 5

Re: golden sun dark dawn djinn bug

Tried changing the 3d renderer and I got the same result, then I used nightly build d939459 with same result, and then I tried changing the 3d renderer again with that nightly build but got the same result.

Last edited by CPU_Master (2017-11-03 17:27:47)


My specs:
GPU: Intel HD Graphics 530
CPU: Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 2.60GHz with Turbo Boost up to 3.5GHz, 4 Cores, 8 Threads
RAM: 8 GB

Offline

#6 2017-11-03 17:47:11

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4,670

Re: golden sun dark dawn djinn bug

post a screenshot and if possible find a video of this scene on hardware on youtube. i really doubt this mismatches the hardware. it's almost impossible for me to imagine how something accidentally gets transparent.

Offline

#7 2017-11-03 18:42:11

CPU_Master
Member
Registered: 2017-11-03
Posts: 5

Re: golden sun dark dawn djinn bug

OwsHlJv.jpg
This is how it looks on my DS. (This was taken from my laptop)

uMGW9yr.png
And this is what it looks like on desmume no matter what renderer I use. (it's kinda hard to see but the djinn are there on the top screen)


My specs:
GPU: Intel HD Graphics 530
CPU: Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 2.60GHz with Turbo Boost up to 3.5GHz, 4 Cores, 8 Threads
RAM: 8 GB

Offline

#8 2017-11-03 22:08:34

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4,670

Re: golden sun dark dawn djinn bug

post a your .dsv file saved at a point where I can investigate this readily

Offline

#9 2017-11-03 22:37:12

CPU_Master
Member
Registered: 2017-11-03
Posts: 5

Re: golden sun dark dawn djinn bug


My specs:
GPU: Intel HD Graphics 530
CPU: Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 2.60GHz with Turbo Boost up to 3.5GHz, 4 Cores, 8 Threads
RAM: 8 GB

Offline

#10 2017-11-03 22:53:20

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4,670

Re: golden sun dark dawn djinn bug

weird, this is 2d, not 3d. and this is even the kind of thing we've bugfixed since 0.9.11

Offline

#11 2017-11-10 19:59:21

rogerman
Member
Registered: 2011-06-04
Posts: 355

Re: golden sun dark dawn djinn bug

Very strange.

The djinn are sprites that are drawn in the OBJ layer. When debugging, it appears that these sprites are using the Transparent OBJ mode, which is forcing the sprites to draw transparent. Under normal circumstances, this is the intended behavior.

However, it looks like Golden Sun: Dark Dawn is doing something strange here, because even though Transparent OBJ mode is being used, the sprites are being drawn as opaque. I have no idea what kind of special rule the NDS is using in this case. Or maybe we're just using a faulty implementation of the Transparent OBJ mode.

It really is all very strange.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB