You are not logged in.

Read the FAQ and Knowledge Base before posting.
WiFi not emulated and not supported!!
We won't make a 3DS/2DS emulator.



#1 2010-01-02 18:57:55

acfanDS
Member
Registered: 2010-01-02
Posts: 3

DeSmuMe Cheat Error

When I go to enter cheats on DeSmuMe on Animal Crossing Wild World I get a "Error Can't Save Cheats to File" message when I go to save. What do I need to change so that I can "save" the cheats?

Thanks.

Offline

#2 2010-01-02 20:28:19

yonizaf
Member
Registered: 2009-12-22
Posts: 179

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

check if your cheat file (.dct) is read only by a chance.

Offline

#3 2010-01-03 03:54:10

acfanDS
Member
Registered: 2010-01-02
Posts: 3

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

Ok. When I couldn't find a .dct file. When I try to change anything in the folder from Read Only it changes back to Read Only right away.

Offline

#4 2010-01-03 07:31:11

yonizaf
Member
Registered: 2009-12-22
Posts: 179

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

did you check that the folder itself isn't read-only? in what folder did you look?

also, does it make saves then? or save-states?

Offline

#5 2010-01-03 21:11:31

acfanDS
Member
Registered: 2010-01-02
Posts: 3

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

Thanks for the help, I've got it to save codes now but they aren't working. The raw codes do, but they aren't ideal for what I want to  do (ie get a whole furniture set). Am I entering them wrong? I know the system isn't perfect either, and that some codes just don't work. Thanks for the help either way. I love the Emulator, great work!

Offline

#6 2010-01-03 23:59:06

yonizaf
Member
Registered: 2009-12-22
Posts: 179

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

make sure that:
1. the codes fit your version - north america codes won't always work on europe version etc.
2. you don't need some key combination for it to work (e.g "press Select+Up" and the likes)

Offline

#7 2010-01-04 13:49:39

nut
Member
From: Bangkok, Thailand
Registered: 2009-07-06
Posts: 118
Website

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

What version of DeSmuMe are you using. If you've entered raw cheats, then it's possible that youl using 0.9.2. If the code that you've entered is action replay, then of course it won't work on 0.9.2 because 0.9.2 doesn't support action replay codes. Switch to 0.9.5 for a better cheat system with action replay codes support.


I want to be a programmer.

Offline

#8 2010-01-13 13:48:59

Juscloud
Member
Registered: 2010-01-13
Posts: 2

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

I got this problem too! When save code in tab Emulation\Cheats\List that have a pop up say "Error: Can't save cheats to file".So i try to find the cheat file (.dct) but the result is zero. (I save by State in "Save State as...")

Offline

#9 2010-01-13 14:14:29

Juscloud
Member
Registered: 2010-01-13
Posts: 2

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

OMG! After i post this comment about 10 minutes, i have found to solve this problem! You only must change the "Path Settings" in Tab Config. config path to cheat folder that you want or creat a new folder to save it. It must # path to Desmume folder. (srr about my English...)

Offline

#10 2010-04-14 04:19:28

Vichyssoisse
Member
Registered: 2010-04-14
Posts: 2

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

Juscloud wrote:

OMG! After i post this comment about 10 minutes, i have found to solve this problem! You only must change the "Path Settings" in Tab Config. config path to cheat folder that you want or creat a new folder to save it. It must # path to Desmume folder. (srr about my English...)

I do that, but, the "Can't Save cheats to file" is still Appear, what must i do ?

Offline

#11 2010-04-14 10:26:23

Manivo
Awesome Possum
Registered: 2009-02-15
Posts: 654

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

Did you place the emulator on your actual harddrive or on some sort of external thingamajig, like a zipdrive?

Offline

#12 2010-04-15 05:37:24

Vichyssoisse
Member
Registered: 2010-04-14
Posts: 2

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

I put the Emulator in the Data D

Offline

#13 2010-04-15 07:56:49

Manivo
Awesome Possum
Registered: 2009-02-15
Posts: 654

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

I have no idea what that means.

Make sure the emulator is on your hard drive and that it's properly unpacked. If you did that, delete desmume.ini and it should work just fine.

Offline

#14 2010-05-20 03:13:11

yukmuk
Member
Registered: 2010-04-09
Posts: 11

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

So, Is there any (CLEAR!) solution to this problem? Because I have DeSmuMe version 0.9.5. and I use the cheats but it says:
                                                                                                                                                                                      ERROR
                                                                                                                                                                              Can't save cheats to file.
And I'm in dire need of cheats.Please reply soon!  big_smile

Offline

#15 2010-05-20 08:27:47

yonizaf
Member
Registered: 2009-12-22
Posts: 179

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

i think this is as clear as it gets:

Manivo wrote:

Make sure the emulator is on your hard drive and that it's properly unpacked. If you did that, delete desmume.ini and it should work just fine.

if you didn't understand any part of it, ask for explanation. if you tried it and still not working, ask again with more details.

Last edited by yonizaf (2010-05-20 08:28:06)

Offline

#16 2010-05-20 22:39:18

yukmuk
Member
Registered: 2010-04-09
Posts: 11

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

yonizaf wrote:

i think this is as clear as it gets:

Manivo wrote:

Make sure the emulator is on your hard drive and that it's properly unpacked. If you did that, delete desmume.ini and it should work just fine.

if you didn't understand any part of it, ask for explanation. if you tried it and still not working, ask again with more details.

Well....I see the folder on my desktop and I don't have DeSmuMe.ini file....So does it mean it's on my hard drive and it's properly unpacked(If I'm incorrect,could you give me an explanation please. )?

Last edited by yukmuk (2010-05-20 22:43:15)

Offline

#17 2010-05-21 00:41:34

yonizaf
Member
Registered: 2009-12-22
Posts: 179

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

you don't have a desmume.ini file -> proof that something wrong.

unpacked means that you extracted the desmume.exe from the downloaded zip file, and put it in a folder before running it.
if you're double-click the file you downloaded and then double-click the .exe inside to run it, you're doing it wrong.

Offline

#18 2010-05-21 01:02:03

Manivo
Awesome Possum
Registered: 2009-02-15
Posts: 654

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

Alternatively, he may just not have extensions showing, meaning he just has a bunch of DeSmuME files with different icons.

Offline

#19 2010-05-21 02:29:23

yukmuk
Member
Registered: 2010-04-09
Posts: 11

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

Actually I'm not using DeSmuMe anymore....Since this afternoon,I've been using NO$GBA....Because my DeSmuMe has some serious problems(Just using cheats and it crashed,that's all.I'm not saying that the people who made this are dumb.Just that the way I downloaded DeSmuMe was wrong, and I'm too lazy to do everything again.). I hope you don't take this the wrong way.=]

Offline

#20 2010-05-21 02:31:33

yukmuk
Member
Registered: 2010-04-09
Posts: 11

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

I do not mean any disrespect, I respect everything DeSmuMe . smile

Offline

#21 2010-05-21 09:54:18

Manivo
Awesome Possum
Registered: 2009-02-15
Posts: 654

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

O....kay.

Offline

#22 2010-08-16 18:19:58

ArcaGrowlMew
Member
Registered: 2010-08-16
Posts: 3

Re: DeSmuMe Cheat Error

I found that I encountered the same problem when running the emulator from my Desktop, but was resolved when I extracted it again to my Downloads folder and ran it from there. If the emulator is on your Desktop, memory stick, CD, etc. try moving it to that folder.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB