You are not logged in.

Read the FAQ and Knowledge Base before posting.
We won't make a 3DS/2DS emulator.



#1 2009-10-23 12:06:03

IdoSC
Member
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 85

Size of a TortoiseSVN's Desmume build?

Hello, i'd like to know if i'm not doing something right.

I'm trying to build a Desmume using source. But Tortoise downloaded like 21MB now, and it keeps going...and I don't think Desmume is even 10MB...what am I doing wrong?
Thanks in advance

Offline

#2 2009-10-23 12:37:07

nut
Member
From: Bangkok, Thailand
Registered: 2009-07-06
Posts: 118
Website

Re: Size of a TortoiseSVN's Desmume build?

I don't know, I get the same thing as yours. I think the size of the whole source is more than 100 MB. Whenever you see the Revision it is complete at, that's the end point of the download.


I want to be a programmer.

Offline

#3 2009-10-23 12:39:54

Manivo
Awesome Possum
Registered: 2009-02-15
Posts: 655

Re: Size of a TortoiseSVN's Desmume build?

I may very well be doing something wrong myself, but the total size of the SVN folder on my computer right now it 700MB.

Offline

#4 2009-10-23 13:30:34

shash
Administrator
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 897

Re: Size of a TortoiseSVN's Desmume build?

Just wait until the checkout / update completes. Don't try to think how much data does a SVN checkout take, as you're clearly not a developer, thus not know what it does include and why it might take that space.

Manivo: That might include object files compiled during build, I'm pretty sure a clean checkout (including the branches) doesn't take 700 MB tongue

EDIT: Did a clean checkout (including tags and branches) and it's a bit under 100MB. If anyone is concerned about that size, go read the SVN book about how to do a checkout of the trunk folder and avoid the zillion tags and branches tongue And I said go read the SVN book, don't f**** ask here.

Offline

#5 2009-10-23 15:21:39

Manivo
Awesome Possum
Registered: 2009-02-15
Posts: 655

Re: Size of a TortoiseSVN's Desmume build?

It did seem weird to me, as I remember the total download being around 100MB when I last did a clean checkout. Thanks for the clarification, Shash wink

Offline

#6 2009-10-23 15:25:06

IdoSC
Member
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 85

Re: Size of a TortoiseSVN's Desmume build?

shash wrote:

Just wait until the checkout / update completes. Don't try to think how much data does a SVN checkout take, as you're clearly not a developer, thus not know what it does include and why it might take that space.

Manivo: That might include object files compiled during build, I'm pretty sure a clean checkout (including the branches) doesn't take 700 MB tongue

EDIT: Did a clean checkout (including tags and branches) and it's a bit under 100MB. If anyone is concerned about that size, go read the SVN book about how to do a checkout of the trunk folder and avoid the zillion tags and branches tongue And I said go read the SVN book, don't f**** ask here.

Well I guess i'll just let it finish the whole thing now. Thanks for the help...and well, I began studying programming languages and I started studying C# in an organized way this year, but I haven't learned anything beyond loops in any of the languages I learned, so yeah...i'm not a developer, well not currently XD

By the way, is there any specific reason you (the admins) don't allow putting pre-build SVNs here for? Could really help newcomers like me XD

Offline

#7 2009-10-23 16:13:16

shash
Administrator
Registered: 2007-03-17
Posts: 897

Re: Size of a TortoiseSVN's Desmume build?

Shinypkm: Because we don't have trusted people building them, and don't want to get involved on builds that could include whatever the author wants. Every newbie coder could do a version that, after 10 minutes of gameplay, for example, starts corrupting stuff from the HD. Also, anyone stupid enough to have problems building it's own builds, isn't helpful for bug reports or helping the dev team, so there isn't much point on them getting a SVN build.

Offline

#8 2009-10-23 19:52:44

IdoSC
Member
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 85

Re: Size of a TortoiseSVN's Desmume build?

Alright, thanks. Anyways, I finally built it just to figure out the problem in SVNs I found appears in my SVN too.
When I play Pokemon HG, 0 Frame Skip works better than ever. Though 1-9, auto, and anything with Limit Framerate, mess the whole game up. Works the same in Pokemon Pt, and SS...I wonder if it appears to anyone else, or if it will be solved by the official 0.9.5? Cause in an earlier SVN, not a long time after 0.9.4 was released, it never occurred to me. Same goes for the official 0.9.4.

Offline

#9 2009-10-24 18:40:51

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,949

Re: Size of a TortoiseSVN's Desmume build?

frameskip is busted right now

Offline

#10 2009-10-24 21:32:12

IdoSC
Member
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 85

Re: Size of a TortoiseSVN's Desmume build?

zeromus wrote:

frameskip is busted right now

Oh, that explains the whole thing...I hope it will be okay soon, though I have to say, Frame skip 0 runs the game quite perfectly, and "auto" frameskip might be the fastest stable emulation of NDS!

Thank you so much for the wonderful job you guys do, can't wait to see what the next versions would bring ^^

Offline

#11 2009-10-25 03:28:06

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,949

Re: Size of a TortoiseSVN's Desmume build?

frameskip 0 is no frameskip. so since frameskip is broken, frameskip 0 is not broken.

Offline

#12 2009-10-25 14:45:25

IdoSC
Member
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 85

Re: Size of a TortoiseSVN's Desmume build?

zeromus wrote:

frameskip 0 is no frameskip. so since frameskip is broken, frameskip 0 is not broken.

Just meant the game runs perfectly when you do no Frameskip...and even better when you do 1~4FS or Auto in others, where the bugs made are still...playable.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB