You are not logged in.

Read the FAQ and Knowledge Base before posting.
We won't make a 3DS/2DS emulator.

#1 2020-05-24 23:26:11

Sophia_Jaeh

Soft Reset // Pokemon Platinum // Shiny Hunting

Hello, so I am currently playing Pokemon Platinum, using Desmume. I am trying to catch a shiny Uxie.

I have a save state right before the encounter with Uxie. I encounter, see no shiny, then hit F1 and reset the save state to before the encounter. Does this constitute as a "Soft Reset"?? As in, will this method even work since I am not technically loading the actual games "save"? Any help would be appreciated.

#2 2020-05-25 00:04:19

zeromus
Radical Ninja

Re: Soft Reset // Pokemon Platinum // Shiny Hunting

this is not a "soft reset" by anyone's standards.

a soft reset would normally be a button press combination (L+R+START+SELECT for instance but pokemon may have its own sequence).

#3 2020-05-25 00:30:24

Sophia_Jaeh

Thank you for this but this really wasn't the main question and doesn't help me in my situation.

zeromus wrote:

this is not a "soft reset" by anyone's standards.

a soft reset would normally be a button press combination (L+R+START+SELECT for instance but pokemon may have its own sequence).

#4 2020-05-25 01:28:07

zeromus
Radical Ninja

This isn't a pokemon gamer's forum. We don't know what it takes to catch a shiny Uxie. You need to go ask on a pokemon gamer's forum.

#5 2020-05-25 01:43:08

Zerp01

zeromus wrote:

This isn't a pokemon gamer's forum. We don't know what it takes to catch a shiny Uxie. You need to go ask on a pokemon gamer's forum.