You are not logged in.

Read the FAQ and Knowledge Base before posting.
WiFi not emulated and not supported!!
We won't make a 3DS/2DS emulator.



#1 2019-04-21 21:32:11

henryngo156
Member
Registered: 2019-04-21
Posts: 21

Desmume Has Stopped Working!

I need help! I tried to open the Desmume emulator but it keeps saying that Desmume has stopped working. I don't know what to do.

Offline

#2 2019-04-21 23:32:29

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,033

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

download it again into a new directory and begin restoring files one by one until you find the file that's breaking it (probably a cheat file or save file or ini file)

Offline

#3 2019-04-22 01:07:05

henryngo156
Member
Registered: 2019-04-21
Posts: 21

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

I just downloaded the latest version, git#be2735b (http://desmume.org/download/), for Desmume. I put it into the Download directory and it is still not working. How can I restore files?

Last edited by henryngo156 (2019-04-22 01:08:02)

Offline

#4 2019-04-22 02:23:34

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,033

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

Where was the first desmume located?

Offline

#5 2019-04-22 20:23:35

henryngo156
Member
Registered: 2019-04-21
Posts: 21

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

The first Desmume I put it in the Desktop directory. What is the next thing I should do?

Offline

#6 2019-04-22 20:36:54

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,033

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

create a desmume.ini containing only this:
[Video]
Display Method=3

(that file should be in a directory with desmume.exe and nothing else)

if that doesn't work..
1. reboot.
2. upgrade/downgrade your GPU drivers.
3. uninstall "desktop enhancement" or streaming software.

You did something to break your computer. Think about what youve done recently

Offline

#7 2019-04-22 21:16:38

henryngo156
Member
Registered: 2019-04-21
Posts: 21

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

Is Razer Cortex a desktop enhancement software?

Offline

#8 2019-04-22 21:19:11

henryngo156
Member
Registered: 2019-04-21
Posts: 21

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

I'm pretty sure that I didn't do anything to break my computer.

Offline

#9 2019-04-22 21:27:28

henryngo156
Member
Registered: 2019-04-21
Posts: 21

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

I opened Desmume and it was working all the time but now... I didn't I did anything wrong that can break my computer.

Offline

#10 2019-04-22 23:38:04

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,033

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

yes, razer cortex is desktop enhancement software.
any junkware you have installed may have updated itself at any time and broken your computer.
Oh, I forgot to mention, disable any security software. It may update itself at any time and break your computer too

Offline

#11 2019-04-23 00:07:51

henryngo156
Member
Registered: 2019-04-21
Posts: 21

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

Is Driver Booster and Iolo System Mechanic also a desktop enhancement software too?

Last edited by henryngo156 (2019-04-23 00:13:50)

Offline

#12 2019-04-23 00:10:03

henryngo156
Member
Registered: 2019-04-21
Posts: 21

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

Is Malwarebytes a security software since it can get rid of malware and other bad things?

Offline

#13 2019-04-23 00:19:00

henryngo156
Member
Registered: 2019-04-21
Posts: 21

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

Desmume is still not working after I deleted Razer Cortex and Malwarebytes.

Offline

#14 2019-04-23 03:03:32

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,033

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

then uninstall recent windowsupdates and upgrade/downgrade your GPU driver

Offline

#15 2019-04-23 21:51:47

henryngo156
Member
Registered: 2019-04-21
Posts: 21

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

Most of my latest Windows Updates are security ones. Can I delete them?

Offline

#16 2019-04-24 01:23:42

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,033

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

Beats me. I don't use windows 10. Ask the internet how to uninstall windows updates.

Offline

#17 2019-04-27 14:01:49

henryngo156
Member
Registered: 2019-04-21
Posts: 21

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

I tried to uninstall Windows Updates and it still wouldn't work. The emulator used to work when I opened it before this happens.

Offline

#18 2019-04-27 17:58:36

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,033

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

the upgrade/downgrade your gpu drivers. did you do the .ini file surgery I mentioned? maybe you can find information about the desmume crash in event viewer's application log

Offline

#19 2019-04-27 18:44:19

henryngo156
Member
Registered: 2019-04-21
Posts: 21

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

I can't update my Intel graphics driver because it is up to date. I did add [Video] Display Method = 3 in the .ini file. Where can I find the event viewer's application log?

Offline

#20 2019-04-28 17:05:31

henryngo156
Member
Registered: 2019-04-21
Posts: 21

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

Any solutions to this problem? By the way... I saw the Desmume error in the event viewer's application log and I don't understand what it is.

Offline

#21 2019-04-29 23:28:53

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,033

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

upgrade OR DOWNGRADE your gpu driver, I said.

It isn't your job to understand the error in the event viewer's application log, that's my job

Offline

#22 2019-04-29 23:31:43

henryngo156
Member
Registered: 2019-04-21
Posts: 21

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

Do you want me to show you what the Desmume error looks like in the event log? I'm sorry that I need help so bad. It's just that the Desmume emulator used to work for me a lot and now it isn't.

Offline

#23 2019-04-30 03:06:16

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,033

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

What do you think?

Offline

#24 2019-04-30 20:26:29

henryngo156
Member
Registered: 2019-04-21
Posts: 21

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

I think that I should show you the Desmume error log. Here it is.
Log Name:      Application
Source:        Application Error
Date:          4/30/2019 4:23:16 PM
Event ID:      1000
Task Category: (100)
Level:         Error
Keywords:      Classic
User:          N/A
Computer:      cindyngo-PC
Description:
Faulting application name: DeSmuME_git#be2735b3_x64.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x5c8fdc4f
Faulting module name: DeSmuME_git#be2735b3_x64.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x5c8fdc4f
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x0000000001b0c11e
Faulting process id: 0xa9c
Faulting application start time: 0x01d4ff9289fb9a49
Faulting application path: C:\Users\cindyngo\Desktop\Desmume git#be2735b\DeSmuME_git#be2735b3_x64.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Users\cindyngo\Desktop\Desmume git#be2735b\DeSmuME_git#be2735b3_x64.exe
Report Id: c8f1d0a5-6b85-11e9-8f66-88ae1de87602
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
  <System>
    <Provider Name="Application Error" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>100</Task>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2019-04-30T20:23:16.000000000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>522695</EventRecordID>
    <Channel>Application</Channel>
    <Computer>cindyngo-PC</Computer>
    <Security />
  </System>
  <EventData>
    <Data>DeSmuME_git#be2735b3_x64.exe</Data>
    <Data>0.0.0.0</Data>
    <Data>5c8fdc4f</Data>
    <Data>DeSmuME_git#be2735b3_x64.exe</Data>
    <Data>0.0.0.0</Data>
    <Data>5c8fdc4f</Data>
    <Data>c0000005</Data>
    <Data>0000000001b0c11e</Data>
    <Data>a9c</Data>
    <Data>01d4ff9289fb9a49</Data>
    <Data>C:\Users\cindyngo\Desktop\Desmume git#be2735b\DeSmuME_git#be2735b3_x64.exe</Data>
    <Data>C:\Users\cindyngo\Desktop\Desmume git#be2735b\DeSmuME_git#be2735b3_x64.exe</Data>
    <Data>c8f1d0a5-6b85-11e9-8f66-88ae1de87602</Data>
  </EventData>
</Event>

Offline

#25 2019-04-30 21:03:57

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 5,033

Re: Desmume Has Stopped Working!

Sorry, nothing useful in there.

You said you "added" the line I specified to your desmume.ini file.
That isn't what I said to do. Do exactly what I said to do.  After that, try it with method 2 instead of method 3.

If that doesn't work, repeat the process with this ini file instead.

[Sound]
SoundCore2=0

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB