You are not logged in.

Read the FAQ and Knowledge Base before posting.
WiFi not emulated and not supported!!
We won't make a 3DS/2DS emulator.



#1 2017-11-22 06:50:29

matic8
Member
Registered: 2017-11-22
Posts: 2

A couple of glitches with the SoftRasterizer

Playing Final Fantasy Tactics A2 with git#109dd6f on Windows x64 I have a couple of glitches with the SoftRasterizer.
OpenGL 3.2 doesn't have them as shown in the attached images.

SoftRaterizer
SoftRasterizer

OpenGL
OpenGL 3.2

The SoftRasterizer has issues with the "Item List" text and the checkered background has some banding.

To avoid bothering you with additional reports in the future I would like to know if they would be useful in that you want the SoftRasterizer to be the go-to renderer or if you don't care about these minor glitches, that can be easily worked around switching between renderers.
Thanks for a great emulator!

Offline

#2 2017-11-23 18:27:27

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4,670

Re: A couple of glitches with the SoftRasterizer

The banding isn't a bug. Opengl may use more colors than an NDS can actually produce.

The item list is definitely wrong. I'll investigate this if you post a .dsv

Bugs in all renderers are interesting, unless theyre "something is off by one pixel"

Offline

#3 2017-11-23 19:36:41

rogerman
Member
Registered: 2011-06-04
Posts: 355

Re: A couple of glitches with the SoftRasterizer

I'm assuming that you set the GPU Color Depth to 24-bit.

SoftRasterizer only supports up to 18-bit. If you choose 24-bit color depth, SoftRasterizer will render a 3D layer of 18-bit color, which is later upsampled to 24-bit. The color banding you're seeing is due to SoftRasterizer only rendering at 18-bit. Do note that a hardware NDS also uses 18-bit color depth.

OpenGL can render to 24-bit color natively, which is why the color gradations are perfectly smooth. But just like zeromus mentioned, a hardware NDS can't actually produce this kind of color, since it is only limited to 18-bit.

Offline

#4 2017-11-23 22:02:36

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4,670

Re: A couple of glitches with the SoftRasterizer

In the future we might should consider fixing softrasterizer to work at all those color depths also.

Offline

#5 2017-11-24 05:49:07

matic8
Member
Registered: 2017-11-22
Posts: 2

Re: A couple of glitches with the SoftRasterizer

Yes, the GPU Color Depth is set to 24-bit.
Also, thanks for the interesting explanation about that.

I've uploaded the savegame to:
http://www73.zippyshare.com/v/GYdovM8Q/file.html

After loading the one with more ours select "Main Menu" and then "Unit Info".
You'll then see a screen matching the ones I posted.

Offline

#6 2017-11-24 09:10:59

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4,670

Re: A couple of glitches with the SoftRasterizer

That's an off-by-one error. It's supposed to be a dropshadow. The dropshadow exposes more of the characters than it's supposed to.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB