You are not logged in.

Read the FAQ and Knowledge Base before posting.
WiFi not emulated and not supported!!
We won't make a 3DS/2DS emulator.



#1 2016-12-13 23:24:13

frontmissionfan
Member
Registered: 2016-12-13
Posts: 3

Bug Report, Front Mission DS text boxes are incorrectly shown

I've noticed what I believe to be a bug in the current DESEMUME builds when playing the US release of Front Mission.

The text boxes for in-game dialogue are currently displaying incorrectly like so in the most recent nightly builds:
http://pasteboard.co/9tMvgJMxG.png
This should be a 16bit style transparency effect.

However in the most recent final build 0.9.11 the dialogue boxes were shown correctly:
http://pasteboard.co/WMjMoU5a.png

I've tried just about every setting I can think of in the latest build and can't seem to get them to display correctly so I'm assuming it's a bug with the current builds. But if anyone knows of a setting to fix the issue please reply.

Last edited by frontmissionfan (2016-12-14 09:06:03)

Offline

#2 2016-12-13 23:48:28

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4,550

Re: Bug Report, Front Mission DS text boxes are incorrectly shown

try disabling "tex deposterize" and "tex smoothing" from the 3d settings

Offline

#3 2016-12-14 09:10:44

frontmissionfan
Member
Registered: 2016-12-13
Posts: 3

Re: Bug Report, Front Mission DS text boxes are incorrectly shown

Thanks for the reply, but I've tried enabling and disabling the options you suggested, by default I had them off. I'm about 98% certain this is a fault with the current builds of the emulator.

I should have mentioned I'm using the same settings for 0.9.11 & #1787081_x64 builds and the problem only shows in the newer version of the emulator. Also as a quick note to the developers I'm using the win 64 version.

Offline

#4 2016-12-15 01:07:35

rogerman
Member
Registered: 2011-06-04
Posts: 318

Re: Bug Report, Front Mission DS text boxes are incorrectly shown

It was a small regression with handling color blending when the 3D layer is blended with the other 2D layers, due to a major code refactor that occurred at the time.

Fixed in git#e6b352c.

Offline

#5 2016-12-15 17:03:29

frontmissionfan
Member
Registered: 2016-12-13
Posts: 3

Re: Bug Report, Front Mission DS text boxes are incorrectly shown

Thanks for the fix rogerman and thanks for all your hard work on Desmume.

I've only recently started using the emulator but I've been very impressed with the quality of it and how well it holds up when compared side by side with the original console. Certainly makes capturing video much easier than having to heavily mod an original DS unit.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB