You are not logged in.

Read the FAQ and Knowledge Base before posting.
WiFi not emulated and not supported!!
We won't make a 3DS/2DS emulator.



#1 2016-02-21 00:47:31

fintogive
Member
Registered: 2014-04-11
Posts: 171

Just Curius but why isnt GBA emulaton supported on desmume?

Im sure this has been asked many times but  why couldn't desumue support GBA roms?  Since a real DS uses the arm7 cpu to run gba titles?  why cant desmume?  in my opinion it would be cool to have a 2 in 1 emulator.  Just saying.

Offline

#2 2016-02-21 02:49:38

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4,483

Re: Just Curius but why isnt GBA emulaton supported on desmume?

desmume could support GBA roms and sega genesis roms too, why not? because not everyone thinks its cool like you do. 

but heres a better technical reason, because it mucks up the code and slows it down to be able to support gba and nds both. sure, other people do it, with mucked up code.

not that desmume's code isn't totally mucked up, but mucking it up more isnt going to help anything.

Offline

#3 2016-02-21 09:55:41

fintogive
Member
Registered: 2014-04-11
Posts: 171

Re: Just Curius but why isnt GBA emulaton supported on desmume?

hmmm... good point...  dont need it to be any slower lol.   i wonder if thats why dolphin emu never seems to get all its bugs worked out. hmm.  just a thopught but what about using a separate dll file to run only when gba roms are ran that way it doesnt muck up the code?   i dont know. just thinking out my rear here lol.

Last edited by fintogive (2016-02-21 09:59:34)

Offline

#4 2016-02-21 18:31:35

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4,483

Re: Just Curius but why isnt GBA emulaton supported on desmume?

so desmume is now an exe which loads two completely separate dlls? why not just have to completely separate exes?

Offline

#5 2016-02-21 21:53:36

fintogive
Member
Registered: 2014-04-11
Posts: 171

Re: Just Curius but why isnt GBA emulaton supported on desmume?

yeah true.  ill just stick to mgba or visualboyadvance then.

Offline

#6 2016-03-01 00:07:11

Luigi__
Member
From: Peach__'s castle
Registered: 2009-05-29
Posts: 17
Website

Re: Just Curius but why isnt GBA emulaton supported on desmume?

zeromus wrote:

not that desmume's code isn't totally mucked up, but mucking it up more isnt going to help anything.

heh.


does it still map the ARM9 BIOS to 0x0F000000 instead of 0xFFFF0000?


Kuribo64 - If you're wondering where Mario__ is, he's currently saving Peach__ once again.

Offline

#7 2016-03-01 01:37:12

zeromus
Radical Ninja
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4,483

Re: Just Curius but why isnt GBA emulaton supported on desmume?

probably

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB